Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

A Pathway to Success: Diversity at Tufts’ Graduate and Professional Schools

The Graduate and Professional Student Admissions Recruitment Committee (GAPSARC) is a university-wide committee of Tufts administrators and faculty who are actively involved in the recruitment of graduate and professional students from under-represented groups. First convened in 2004, the committee meets regularly and includes representatives from each of our eight schools. The committee is administered and coordinated by the Office of the Provost.

The purpose of GAPSARC is to create a space for graduate schools to share resources and develop best practices for the benefit of their individual school. GAPSARC was convened by the Office of the Provost to promote graduate diversity initiatives university-wide. With this in mind, the Office of the Provost provides funds and administrative support for joint recruiting initiatives like the Prospective Graduate Student Days. These initiatives are intended to facilitate our eight graduate school’s recruiting efforts, not to replace or supersede them. It is the schools responsibility, either through their GAPSARC representative or by some other means better suited to the individual school, to utilize the resources provided by GAPSARC to their school’s benefit.

For more information about the committee, please contact the Associate Director of Graduate Diversity Programs, Yvette Dalton (, or Lisa Bloom, (

GAPSARC Members:

Office of the Provost & Senior Vice President
Lisa Bloom, Office Assistant
Institutional Research
Dawn Geronimo Terkla, Associate Provost
Graduate School of Arts & Sciences
Linda Beardsley, Lecturer, Education Department
School of Dental Medicine
Melissa Friedman, Associate Director of Admissions
School of Engineering
Darryl Williams, Associate Dean for Recruitment, Retention, and Community Engagement
Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy
Laurie Hurley, Director of Admission
Roxana McClammy, Admissions Coordinator Kristen Zecchi, Associate Director of Admission
Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy
Stacey Herman, Director of Student Affairs Alvin Carter, Assistant Director of Student Affairs – Admissions
School of Medicine
 Dr. Joyce Sackey, Dean for Multicultural Affairs and Global Health John Matias, Associate Dean of Admissions and Enrollment Services
David Neumeyer, Dean of Admissions
Emily Keily, Director of Admissions, Public Health and Community Medicine
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Dan Jay, Dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Elizabeth Storrs, Director of Enrollment Services
Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
Rebecca Russo, Director of Admissions Ford Barnet, Admissions Counselor