Membership: The Teaching and Learning committee was chaired by Peter Uvin, Academic Dean and Professor of International Humanitarian Studies, Fletcher School. Detailed member information is listed below.

Guiding Questions:

  • What should be the university’s principal goals with respect to teaching and learning?
  • How do we think about assessment and measuring the outcomes of student learning?
  • How can we create learning environments that will allow all students to achieve their full potential?
  • From a teaching and learning perspective, what are the most compelling observations and recommendations from the working group reports?
  • In addition to the issues addressed in the working group reports, what other critical teaching and learning issues should Tufts expect to face in the next 10 years?
  • What principles should guide our responses to these issues?
  • What should we plan to stop doing, or to start doing very differently, as we pursue teaching and learning goals and confront contemporary challenges?

Members

Name Title Email Phone
Peter Uvin (Former Chair) Academic Dean and Professor of International Humanitarian Studies, Fletcher
Gary Roberts (Staff) Assistant Provost gary.roberts@tufts.edu 7-3313
Nancy Bauer Dean of Academic Affairs and Professor of Philosophy, A&S nancy.bauer@tufts.edu 7-2343
Harry Bernheim Associate Professor of Physics, A&S harry.bernheim@tufts.edu 7-3187
Bárbara M. Brizuela Associate Professor of Education, A&S barbara.brizuela@tufts.edu 7-4721
Jonathan Garlick Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, Dental jonathan.garlick@tufts.edu 6-2444
Henry Klapholz Dean for Clinical Affairs, Medicine henry.klapholz@tufts.edu 6-0313
Carole Palmer Professor of Public Health and Community Service, Dental/Friedman carole.palmer@tufts.edu 6-6808
Donna Qualters Director, Center for the Enhancement of Learning and Teaching (CELT) donna.qualters@tufts.edu 7-4002
Chris Rogers Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Engineering chris.rogers@tufts.edu 7-2882
Edward Saltzman Associate Professor and Scientist, Friedman/HNRCA edward.saltzman@tufts.edu 6-3245
Chris Swan Associate Dean for Undergraduate Curriculum Development and Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Engineering/Tisch College chris.swan@tufts.edu 7-3211
Angie Warner Associate Professor of Biomedical Sciences and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Cummings angie.warner@tufts.edu 8-4200
Yulia Korovikov Student Yulia.Korovikov@tufts.edu
Graduate student